Medway Culture, Design & Tourism Awards 2015



WOW is pleased to learn that the Medway Culture, Design & Tourism Awards are being run for the first time this year since 2012.

We encourage as many creative organisations and as many artists as possible to enter – and encourage readers to nominate those organisations/projects or individuals who have made an impact on you in the last three years.

Nominate yourself or others now!

The Awards aim to celebrate excellence in arts, culture, design, heritage and tourism by recognising groups and individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the area’s cultural vitality.

The Awards also seek to give recognition to, and raise the profile of, businesses, projects, people and organisations that contribute to Medway’s cultural offer.

There are 14 categories overall:



Fashion and Design



Visual Arts

Performing Arts


New Build (completed)

Heritage project

Open Spaces and Public Realm


Hotel of the year

B&B of the year

Visitor Attraction

Outstanding Customer Care

Flavour of the Year

Anyone living, working, or has made a significant cultural contribution in Medway, is eligible to be nominated for an award.

You can nominate yourself or nominate others but the project should have taken place or been completed between December 2012 and September 2015. Shortlisted entrants are invited to a gala awards ceremony on 22 October 2015.

The nominations will be assessed by an independent panel of judges. All 14 categories will be judged against the following criteria and will be marked out of 10 giving an overall total out of 60.

  • Innovation in your field
  • Contribution to Medway
  • Delivering/attracting new audiences
  • Quality
  • National/international recognition/achievement
  • Accessibility/usability

All entries must clearly reference their work against the six criteria, to explain their achievements in each.

You can download a nomination form and send in by post, or nominate online: go to If you have any questions about the Awards, email

CLOSING DATE FOR NOMINATIONS is Friday, 28 August, so do it now!